Posted in Awareness, Co-Creation Manifestation, Oneness, Presence, Service

One Path Traveled

Namaste Trusting & Mindful Travelers!

I greet you in the name of oneness, blessedness, & the timeless travels of life marked by this eve of the Jewish ‘head of the Year’, Rosh Hashanah. Another new beginning moment as we weave the paths of our journey. We also embrace this week’s post from the honoring perspective of the US Labor Day holiday, the life passing of a dear friend and a ‘job well done’. For if we consider our time here a job, then our friend, Ranger Bob Keller did his job well:BobKeller1Bob was a friend and a fellow folkie; though I joked with him about ‘ruining my child’, he was a mentor for Jeremiah in many ways including the “Gruesome Song Of The Month Club” whereby he sent songs out via the wonders of the internet. Bob was a boy scout ranger, both playful & responsible in all the right measures. Among other acts of service to his own songs, mine & others, Bob made recordings of our ‘Open Mic’ style concerts at our annual campouts and he recorded a few CDs for me at the makeshift Camp Store recording studio ~ last Labor Day, he recorded our ‘Trust What You Hear’ CD as I shared here in the post of the same name. Right before our Labor Day Camp, we were emailing about him doing a re-release of his Campfire Songs CD and in the middle of his very active life, he went home, closed his eyes and really went home. We all were shocked. I cried myself ugly. And then had a wonderful mystic oneness experience with his Spirit ~ albeit tinged with all kinds of humanness on the part of myself & others!

Briefly, I was writing a song to process my grief in losing him here as a friend. I was trying to ground in the truth of it and kept having all these thoughts of denial that surely it was a mistake, a joke, that it just couldn’t be that he was gone. So as I started writing the song, I had a sense of Bob, the very playful Bob beckoning me to write a different song ~ something lighter, funner, more humorous about the situation. I was feeling his essence and thinking of how I had written other songs for other souls in that way, tapping into their essence. A few hours later, Jeremiah said, “It must be good karma that Ranger Bob didn’t die a gruesome death.” Aha! The song started forming … there were moments of being with Bob/his Spirit as the song was birthed before & during the music camp. I told him I didn’t have a chorus and he playfully sang me a line or two of the song that came to be and I laughed out loud. Someone spoke to me right then and it was gone … only to come back later in the silence & my focused service to the song.

I finished both ‘my’ song & ‘Bob’s’ song Sunday morning at camp, taking a few dedicated hours to be in service to the songs. They both got further refined this very day in yet another round of service. “Travel Well” is my sweet farewell to Bob and when finished, triggered my remembrance of the great poet James Dillet Freeman’s poem, The Traveler. “Ways To Die” is the tongue-in-cheek, comical ode to my friend Bob. I blame him for it’s co-creation ~ she says tongue in cheek. And though it ended up being my narrative voice speaking to him, it will always be, to me, his voice playfully speaking to us. I have put both of these songs and their lyric sheets on the New Songs page on the website that had been gathering cobwebs ~ another thank you, Bob. You can also hear Bob’s voice in one of his songs that he emailed me last December while writing it. He wrote it for someone he knew through the veterans but it very much speaks to his own life, Job Well Done.

Jeremiah with Ranger Bob when doing a Gruesome Songs Workshop together at the Free Folk festival in SF a few years back.
Jeremiah with Ranger Bob when doing a Gruesome Songs Workshop together at the SF Folk Festival a few years ago.

As the twists & turns of life’s journey would have it, our first look at oneness this remembrance September is through life & death as one. With great gratitude to Unity, here is this classic James Dillet Freeman poem:

The Traveler By James Dillet Freeman

 He has put on invisibility.
Dear Lord, I cannot see—
But this I know, although the road ascends
And passes from my sight,
That there will be no night;
That You will take him gently by the hand
And lead him on
Along the road of life that never ends,
And he will find it is not death but dawn.
I do not doubt that You are there as here,
And You will hold him dear.

Our life did not begin with birth,
It is not of the earth;
And this that we call death, it is no more
Than the opening and closing of a door—
And in Your house how many rooms must be
Beyond this one where we rest momently.

Dear Lord, I thank You for the faith that frees,
The love that knows it cannot lose its own;
The love that, looking through the shadows, sees
That You and he and I are ever one!

September’s theme focus for New Thought Families is Oneness Blessed. Visit our multimedia, daily Play & Pray Calendar for a fun moment of daily remembrance, presence & playful practice. For our Mindful Meditation Invitation this week, let’s look at all the ways we are connected ~ who do you sense is part of your journey even if you cannot see or talk to them in human form? Thank you for being part of my journey here & now! I am most grateful for the gift of your presence on my path. A very sacred & celebratory, Oneness Blessed, ‘Head of the Year’ pathways of possibilities to you & yours this moment, this life. Namaste Love!

Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

