Posted in Awareness, Co-Creation Manifestation, Creativity, Faith, Fortitude, Gratitude, Love, Nature, Service, Spiritual Parenting

Serving Naturally

Namaste this smiling Mindful Monday!

A smile is the light in the window of your face that tells people you’re at home.  ~Author Unknown

Back at Brigantine Beach for what I believe is the 4th July in a row … thank you friend Rosemarie for having us here and thank you Army Corps of Engineers for re-building this beach after hurricane Sandy! There have been some amazing stories of that monster storm that in relation to other places, left this little beach town relatively mildly harmed. Even natural disasters have their way of serving humanity by bringing out the best in the hearts that respond. Some believe that the severity of storms is increasing because of the unkind environmental ways we treat our mother. Yet, through it all, nature continues to serve us and smile her beauty from all corners of the planet.

The world always looks brighter from behind a smile.  ~Author Unknown

Taken here last year ... walking & smiling the beach ...
Taken here last year … walking & smiling the beach …

BeachSteps

Oh how a beach can make me smile! This morning, I awoke early and walked the beach smiling & smiling ~ with this song singing in my mind:

A smile confuses an approaching frown.  ~Author Unknown

I am reminded of just how powerful a smile is ~ not only to uplift others but also to uplift ourselves! Our Mindful Meditation Invitation last week was to see service in all we do … as a choice, a voice, and hopefully as intentions & actions we can rejoice! A smile is one of the easiest, most natural ways we can flow Love & goodness, aka be of service to the wellbeing of ourselves & others!

Before you put on a frown, make absolutely sure there are no smiles available.  ~Jim Beggs

I had an interesting encounter with a family & mostly with myself on the early morning beach walk ~ In the distance I saw them … family of 4 and I thought how wonderful it was for them to be out together … I could see a child and wondered if there was a teen or a grandparent or ~?! I was somewhat romantically viewing the fact that they were having this glorious experience together. When I passed them, I witnessed an unsmiling mom, distracted teenage daughter texting as she walked along side mom, a seemingly good natured dad behind them and the young boy dragging last with those slow, complaining feet of, “How much further?! I’ve walked far enough!” I smiled & silently blessed them relaxing further into my blissful solitude knowing things aren’t always as they seem!

It has been blissful to return to my friend’s clean beach house next to the powerful, sparkling sea. Arriving yesterday into her blessedly clean space, I am at once relaxed & further invited to just keep flowing with the Love that always is, no matter what. It just happens to be so much easier & more natural for me here than at my ex’s house! With renewed vigor, I am mindfully contemplating all sorts of facets of service and what comes naturally … in nature, in art, in parenting & families …

With my man cub turning 13 this year, it has been an interesting time of change in him and in us. I realize for the highest good of all, these changes, big & small, are indeed natural. And yet, if we apply mindfulness, some of what is taken for granted as ‘natural’ ebbs & flows … a teenage grunt or somewhat rude response … I call him on it in a loving, mindful way ~ the same way he calls me on my occasional menopausal outbursts ~! We can usually bring each other back to loving center. We have laid a foundation for this …. a 13 year old practice of daily prayer & connection. As I continue the journey of ‘cutting the apron strings’ and allowing him more & more space ~ naturally ~ this shifts my levels of service to him, naturally! Through my discomfort on this trip, I have come to new conclusions about future trips and family vacays … it is time for some pretty big changes for us and it is feeling less like a hurricane and more like a re-building of the beach afterwards. Thank You sweet Spirit of  co-creation & revolution for this inspiration of co-creation & evolution!

VanGogh2 copyClassic Van Gogh self portrait & swirling landscape. Classic Van Gogh self portrait & swirling landscape.

Just as the artists we touched on last week continue to serve humanity with their gifts, so do we all ~by being in the flow of what comes naturally to us. We can be in service to our art, our children, our fellow beings on the planet with every smile, thought, act of kindness. What are you in service to ~ and why?! Let’s make that this week’s Mindful Meditation Invitation: What are you in service to & why?! Remember to contemplate our first 2 weeks … service as Love expressed … service in all we do … so how are you serving ~ what & who ~ and in what Spirit ~ service with a smile?!

The robbed that smiles, steals something from the thief.  ~William Shakespeare, Othello

As the artist I am, I have always considered it being in service to the song, the story, the muse, the co-creation. The much harder piece for me is in the bringing it to others, aka marketing! It seems I am most at home writing & singing the song, much like the bird in the forest. Still, as I have been addressing & will continue to evolve & co-create, full service in giving the gifts lies in finding a home for them … ears & hearts for the songs … and the lips to sing along … we’ll leave it at that for this mindful moment. Namaste Love, thank you for sharing the journey & walking this path of natural beauty with me … blessings of divinity!

Gratefully walking with you ~!
Gratefully walking with you ~!
Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

