Posted in Affirmations, Awareness, Compassion, Creativity, Fortitude, Hope, Love, Service, Spiritual Parenting

Trust What You Hear

Namaste this Mindful Monday!
I greet you with passionate ponderings on a celebration fully cushioned with compassion … In keeping with last week’s Mindful Monday Meditation Invitation  to explore our passions and see how/if they feed the life of compassion. My passions yielded a final project push to complete a loooooong labor of Love. Here ~ hear, our new CD is here! A music CD we began in June 2008 is making its way into the world this fleeting September. My 12 year old son, Jeremiah & I give the gift of Trust What You Hear ~ woo hoo! At this point I reiterate the quote that heads our New Thought Families Vision page at New Thought Families:
A bird does not sing because it has an answer. It sings because it has a song. ~ Chinese Proverb
Now truthfully, I sometimes like to think I do have an answer ~ an intergenerational resource for playing & praying together ~ but the deeper truth is, I am in service to the songs I co-create because they call me to service. They are songs I must sing!The NTF Vision page has the song, We Are Called embedded in it; a song I thought would be on this CD along with a few others but in the end, 13 songs made it through this 4 year journey with the 17+ others on ‘the list’ waiting for another time. It is our simple singing with my guitar, Jeremiah playing keys on 3 songs & his ukulele debut on 1 song and a folk music friend Mike Bechler adding joyful notes to 2 songs with his mandolin. A few child refrains, “Thank You God!” and 1 song with music by David Tralle made it from the 08 start. The majority of the recording was done over Labor Day weekend at the folk music campout with Boy Scout leader Ranger Bob doing the rudimentary recording in a makeshift studio set up in the Camp Store ~! The other drive to get this done besides the huge completion of an incomplete was to document this time in our lives ~ showing Jeremiah’s musical progress ~ I’ve been recording with him since age 4 ~ and to capture his voice again, before it changes! And it is changing, deepening every day. A depth that reminds me of the circle of life and the gift of time.

This CD is being birthed into digital distribution this week with the physical CDs hopefully on hand next month.  You can hear samples from all the songs as well as read all the lyrics on the CD page at New Thought Families. Also look for our CD Celebration Sale going live this week if you’d like to purchase our CDs, start or add to your collection of Spirit Rising intergenerational voices calling you to play & pray, and at the same time support our musical ministry ~ thank you, thank you!

In answering the passionate call to produce this CD in the best way I could, I spent another long set of hours last week mixing & mastering the tracks that Ranger Bob handed me. I had to use a huge dose of compassion with myself, especially the parts that condemn me for still turning out these recordings on less than a shoe string budget and having to do so much of it myself. And I had to employ compassion for the society at hand that turns up by the hundreds of thousands for media messages that I find negative, dark, or downright perverse while my ‘following’ is so very few ~ you know THE voice that comes along to say, “Why bother?” So I found myself again & again choosing compassion & celebration for these songs that call to me, and through me, feeling the joyful vibration they offer with the hope that they can  find a way to serve others.

I give thanks to our NTF Yogi friend Keith Lickey who seems to love ALL our songs ~ it was so helpful to know that he would indeed be delighted by this expression. And my sweet Jeremiah, I am so honored & delighted to be expressing with him and to be giving him this gift not only now, but maybe more so, in the future. As spiritual parents, the best gift we can give our children is conscious co-creations! And ultimately, the true passion of compassion is to answer my own inner call to sing the songs that wrote me ~ it is my life’s work to say yes to the co-creations that pour through me. How does it get any better than this?!

Thereby, this week’s Mindful Monday Meditation Invitation is to (continue to) co-create with passion the Love that ever flows through us if only we say YES! I am yessing that blessing and the blessing of YOU! Thank you so much for being here to hear! And as the WordPress clock has now turned to Thoughtful Tuesday, I mindfully smile knowing that timing is everything and it’s never too late to say YES!

Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

