Posted in Awareness, Compassion, Presence, Sacred, Spiritual Parenting

Sacred Storytelling

Namaste this Mindful Monday!

Today, before going on about my own story, let us pause to reflect on story itself. In many contemporary teachings ~ including some New Thought teachings ~ the story has gotten a bad rap. We are told to let go of the story so that we don’t keep telling the same one over & over. While there is some validity there, it is really the attachment to the story that causes any predicaments including perpetuating all the old patterns we’d like to change.

The essence of  story itself acts to inform & inspire. Just 2 days prior to my Jeremiah beginning Jr. High last week, my eyes fell on this little tale from the Zen tradition as told in the book, Stories of the Spirit, Stories Of The Heart:
Twenty monks and one nun, who was named Eshun, were practising meditation with a certain Zen master. Eshun was very pretty even though her head was shaved and her dress was plain. Several monks secretly fell in love with her. One of them wrote her a love letter, insisting on a private meeting. Eshun did not reply. The following day the master gave a lecture to the group, and when it was over, Eshun arose. Addressing the one who had written her she said: “If you really love me so much, come and embrace me now.”

So then, off goes my son to Jr. High & high school math. And the first day of school, there are these moments of silent shunning, a “Do I know you?” kinda feeling directed my way. This is validated as “natural” by all accounts from friends and family members. But I find that an unacceptable truth … just because the birdie is winging out to bigger patches of sky, doesn’t mean he needs to forget or ignore his nest & mother! Conversations with my tween age son have ensued and with his awareness heightened, his behaviour has indeed shifted. For how long? Is this good for the teenage duration? I hear the voices of those all knowing, well intentioned ones, “Of course not. Just get ready to be ignored. That’s the way it is, it’s natural.” But I intend differently. I am adjusting to this new phase … only walking half way to school and then taking another path … giving him more space … but I am also expecting & intending to live a story of Love & respect, thank you very much.

So as our story goes, Jeremiah is doing great in the school we thought we had to avoid. I am back to being soccer mom with the added high school math class shuttle ( an hour every other day), and all things mom aside, I find myself once again looking for sure footing with work & community. I had a whammy from our (old!) web host that has left Laurie’s Stories .com a big mess and yet here I am, stepping back, and looking at stories themselves~! I somehow feel compelled to share the following stories from my 5 year old self, sacred or not! With the dust settling from our faux move, I have moved back ‘in’ to the garage, including hanging an array of artwork, that all tell a story. Sometimes, when we look at who we are, we can read the stories we have told. So here are two that I wrote when I was 5:
A giant was coming towards the houses. The giant tripped on the string.

These are three tents a man built. Three people moved in the tents. All the people came out to feed the animals. People were fighting over the grass. They moved out because they wanted more grass of their own.

So why do I share my 5 year old stories & wisdom here and now? I’m not really sure except to say that stories can limit or expand us at our own choosing. I am re-committing to the power of story ~ and song ~ for shaping the inspirations of Love expressing as me. Last week’s Mindful Meditation Invitation was to open up to all the places we can satisfy our our soul’s longing to expand with asking, “How can I be a fuller expression of the Love I was created to be?!” This week, let’s continue our expansion with compassion knowing some days, the way is just plain slow.

This is today’s picture from our daily Play & Pray Calendar inviting you to a deep breath chance to slow down for the sacred! Thanks so much for being here and sharing your sacred story with the world!

Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

