Posted in Gratitude, Love, Oneness, Prayer, Presence, Spiritual Parenting, Transformation

Rejoicing in Choicing

Mindful Easter Monday Greetings!

This day after the Spirit Rising of Easter, beckons of new beginnings. As Christ rose from the dead & spring blooms rise from the darkness, we are offered the reminders to ascend from all that holds us down, or even, dare I say, all that has become deadened within us. What buried dreams or desires within you are calling for resurrection?

So often our lives race on without pause for reflection & re-direction when needed. This season, I find myself having many Gethsemane Garden moments … Our Mindful Meditation for this last Holy Week was one of living in gratitude aware of the flow of grace; to see & celebrate the flow of God’s grace in our homes, our travels, our world and to truly embody it in a renewed Spirit Rising within us. I had a few challenges during the week including leaving my purse in a restaurant … it seems it is lost & gone forever (though a small, optimistic part of me is still waiting for it to show up at the post office~!). Because we were on vacation, the purse was full of extra goodies … like my digital camera & Flip video camera. The camera was full of pictures … most importantly all the student snapped photos from our 6th grade Peace Cabaret. It is such irreplaceables that tug at my heart. Still, I get to choose to flow with grace. I think the biggest challenge lies in accepting me & my actions and not going too deep down into the “Let’s figure out why I’m sabotaging myself” garden path. The flow of grace is always available even and especially in the awkward moments of life.

Jeremiah & I pray daily and so we included those who have my belongings & other prayers for acceptance & safety over the purse situation. Even though I didn’t slip too much into drama & felt fairly peaceful about the whole thing, it took me a few days to come to recognize the flow of grace. So I am applying this to other challenges, paying attention to the presence of sacred purpose in all. 

Grace  means more than gifts. In grace something is transcended, once and for all overcome. Grace happens in spite of something; it happens in spite of separateness and alienation. Grace means that life is once again united with life, self is reconciled with self. Grace means accepting the abandoned one. Grace transforms fate into a meaningful vocation. It transforms guilt to trust and courage. The word grace has something triumphant in it. ~ Yrjo Kallinen

So after our Holy Week challenges & (churchless) Easter celebrations, this Mindful Monday finds us nearing another completed spring vacation. Then, back to school where Jeremiah has 37 days left before moving on to Jr. High. After entering his high school math class a few weeks ago, he is feeling more independent & I am feeling less protective … I guess! It seems I am once again facing & embracing those big life questions that have challenged me for many years … community, opportunity,  … just plain unity ~ you know, where to live & how best to give.  But rather than drowning in the details, I am rejoicing in the freedom of choicing! Jeremiah & I both agree to do our best to be happy for no reason & happy for every reason ~ no matter what! What a blessed life this is … so full of choices! Here’s the 3rd verse of our Begin Again song:
 Life is such a series of choice after choice.
Why not choose the voice that causes you to rejoice?
Moment by moment, we can begin again.
Joy is always calling you … Let it in, let it in, let joy in!

I would embed the music video of Begin Again, but as you may have noticed here the last few weeks, something has changed here at WordPress and I can’t seem to figure out what! On my Laurie’s Stories blog at Blog Spot, the embedding is still going just fine which does bring me joy, thank you very much. Soooooooo, there we go, more choices!

Speaking of embedding videos, we do have 2 new ones: an Easter Sunday Celebration featuring our Season Of Peace wrap up song & our Easter Affirmation Tree and our 3rd Conscious Comedy Tell~A~Vision: Ego Busters where we will hopefully make you laugh or at least smile & you can check out my 12 year old Jeremiah’s ‘ego wisdom’.  You’ll also be highly entertained by our co-creator Rev Karene Piccolo. Click on our picture below and you’ll find both new videos on our website as well as our multi-media, interfaith, intergenerational daily Play & Pray Calendar.

Thanks so much for taking a mindful moment with me here! This week’s Mindful Meditation Invitation is to continue to see & celebrate the flow of God’s grace in all of the resurrected, renewed Spirit Rising stirrings within us. Namaste, Love!

Laurie Story & Jeremiah
Check out Laurie Story & Jeremiah’s latest videos!
Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

