Posted in Awareness, Compassion, Grace, Gratitude, Oneness, Transformation

Oneness Opportunities!

Namaste Mindful Ones!

Greetings this Mindful Monday as August unravels & September steps up. At New Thought Families, we are stepping into our new month’s theme this week of Unity & Oneness. It is with great gratitude that I welcome you here as we finish this month’s focus on grace & gratitude.

On our walk to school the other morning, we had more than a fair share of heavy exhaust spewing trucks going past. On my way home, there was a particularly nasty one that lingered for a looooong time, sending my nose into my shirt & giving me the opportunity to ponder, allow, and transform. Sure, there was the usual, initial, judgemental reactions that went something like, “Geez, get that thing off the road!” “What an environmental disaster you are!” “Is that thing even legal?” Then I shifted to a more positive mindframe as I dove my nose into my shirt, “Wow! This shirt smells so nice & yummy! Guess I should be grateful to that stinky truck or my nose wouldn’t be here enjoying this smell!” And then, I relaxed and smiled at myself relishing the moment of transforming yucky to yummy. Then, the awareness deepened. Not only could I find reasons within myself to be grateful, I could embrace this further with compassion and recognition of oneness. For not only can we be grateful for the yuckies, we can choose to recognize our oneness with them. So first the compassion, “The guy’s just making his living with that big truck …. maybe he doesn’t have the money to fix it … maybe he’s providing a hugely valuable service to someone else … The trees are here in service to convert that foul air into clean … all really is in divine order!” And so it is, that if we truly believe in divine order as well as our connection to ALL, we, indeed embrace it all. I am taking this teaching to heart as I compassionately continue to piece my work life together …. my ongoing transformational opportunity! The great compassionate poet & Vietnamese Buddhist monk, Thích Nhất Hạnh has  inspiring writings about all of life including oneness:
“Feelings, whether of compassion or irritation, should be welcomed, recognized, and treated on an absolutely equal basis; because both are ourselves. The tangerine I am eating is me. The mustard greens I am planting are me. I plant with all my heart and mind. I clean this teapot with the kind of attention I would have were I giving the baby Buddha or Jesus a bath. Nothing should be treated more carefully than anything else. In mindfulness, compassion, irritation, mustard green plant, and teapot are all sacred.”
— Thich Nhat Hanh (The Miracle of Mindfulness)

So our mindful message for this week & the upcoming month of September is to embrace Oneness Opportunities. Our Mindful Meditation Invitation is to recognize your oneness with something ugly!~ Our Play & Pray Calendar is here  & it shifts this week from August’s Grateful Grace to September’s, United As One. If it’s one thing we can all be grateful for ~ always ~ it is the universal gift of the smile! Here’s our music video, Smiling Spree with the updated soundtrack from the new CD In Our Hands. EnJOY! Namaste, Love.
 “Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” — Thich Nhat Hanh

Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

