Posted in Awareness, Transformation, Transition, Truth

Telling Tough Truths

Namaste this Mindful Monday!

Our month of truth-telling & transformations is speeding by & speeding up with LOTS of growth opportunities~ ya, ouch! Growing pains seem to come with transformational territory …
Today, I will speak briefly to three tough truths I’ve been faced with this last week as I invite you to look within for some of your own tough truth you may have (also) conveniently set aside …

Truth 1: Telling the truth can sometimes be extremely yucky! In doing my grant reporting for ChildSing, my spring preschool music & literacy classes, I remembered something horrifying I had witnessed several months ago. I had shut down to it and put it aside but in remembering, I had to tell. During one of my song circles, a preschool owner had slapped a child in front of all of us. In this brief account, I will only say we were all horrified but went on as if it hadn’t happened. Of course that’s hard to (publically) admit and there are many details but the tough truth is, we must always lend our voice to justice. I have now filed the incident with the ‘authorities’ and in so doing realized that many of my own childhood abuse issues were (still) at play here. So much healing has taken place and yet those early experiences took over in this one. Truth: You can trust Life to bring you what you need for your highest good ~ and growth!

Truth 2: We need to find a New Thought church! Jeremiah & I have been involved in our local, rural area with an interfaith ministry & the Methodist church, both good in their own right and neither are quite “home”. After a particularly unsettling bible reading in the Methodist church, Jeremiah declared, “We have GOT to find a new church mom!” Truth: Something out of your child’s mouth is 100 times louder than the voice in your head.

Truth 3:  New Thought Families has no tribe. We are a blip in the vast cyberspace offerings. I, as the NTF’s mother see the tough truth that my vision is not (yet?) shared by others. I am driven to produce content because I can, because I am passionate about the flow of it and the need for it and because I’m so good at it. And (tough truth) I am also so good at overwhelming myself with SO MANY things I do ~ to prove the ever present subconscious, self sabotaging lie that I am not enough. Ok, that’s a mindful mouthful of tough truth there. Suffice it to say for now,  that I am being totally truthful with myself about what is and what has been with all my life’s work, New Thought Families & its long time predecessor, Laurie’s Stories. BTW, I just launched another incredible summer reading program at Laurie’s Stories! And as I have for years, I keep returning to the James Dillet Freeman bird who sings with no one listening. I sing because I have a song. Truth: When we act from the heart, there are measures of pure Love as well as wounded places crying to be healed ~ a song singing to be heard.

Love is here to help us live the truth!

Telling tough truths is just a part of the transformational process. For us to grow and let go of what no longer serves us, it is often like wading through tar. If you ever feel like that too, take heart and keep embracing the truth of who you are knowing that with God ALL things are possible! Here’s one of our songs that I really wanted to put into a music video this month but ……. well, sometime! Hear a bit of it here!

Live The Truth
C 2006 Laurie Story Vela
Tune of Down By The Riverside

I’m gonna lay down my negative thoughts,
Just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go …
I’m gonna lay down my negative thoughts
And live the truth of who I am

Chorus:
Gonna live the truth of who I am,
gonna live the truth of who I am,
Gonna live the truth of who I am, I am, I am
Gonna live the truth of who I am
Gonna live the truth of who I am
Gonna live the truth of who I am

I’m gonna lay down my unworthiness
Just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go …
I’m gonna lay down my unworthiness
And live the truth of who I am

I’m gonna lay down my judgements and doubts
Just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go …
I’m gonna lay down my judgements and doubts
And live the truth of who I am
Chorus

I’m gonna lay down guilt, blame and shame
Just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go …
I’m gonna lay down guilt, blame and shame
And live the truth of who I am

I’m gonna lay down separation and fear
Just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go, just gonna let them go …
I’m gonna lay down separation and fear
And live the truth of who I am
Chorus

I’m gonna take up love, joy & peace,
Just gonna let them in, just gonna let them in, just gonna let them in …
I’m gonna take up love, joy & peace,
And live the truth of who I am
Chorus

Last week’s Mindful Meditation Invitation was to tell the truth complete with the acknowledgement to use compassion & forgiveness as necessary but to do yourself the favor of being fully present & truthful. This week, let’s keep deepening that with willingness to be present with tough truths. We have our standing invitation to play & pray everyday with us in our intergenerational, multi-media June calendar:  Trust The Truth To Transform! In the embracing of tough truths, we automatically awaken transformation  ~ just by showing up! 

Author:

Passionate about co-creation; deepening awareness & embodiment of Love. Life's work focus on children & families playing with literacy & spiritual literacy. Author/Illustrator/BookTeller/MusicMaker/Webmaster www.newthoughtfamilies.com www.creativespiritfamilies.com

Leave a Reply

